Review: Three Dark Crowns

28374007

Author: Kendare Blake
Buy Links: Amazon , Book Depositry
Genre:  YA, Fantasy, Magic
MVP: Natalia Aaron
Rating: ★★★/ 5

Description:
In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown. 

Review:

“Every gift is light and dark.”
Three Dark Crowns is, as the title suggests, a very dark novel. I found that halfway through the book I had yet to make my mind up as to whether I actually liked it or not. It is a very  unique story and the writing is perceptive and alluring. The synopsis of the book is ultimately what caused me to purchase the book, and I assumed unwisely that this would become another favorite book to add to my growing collection, yet I was bitterly disappointed to find myself struggling to swallow certain events as the pages progressed.
Fennbirn is indeed a very cruel and unsavory world. I am so used to fantasy novels referring to it’s royalty with a certain romantic awe and humble respect – yet the royalty in this book are seen as weak, pathetic and are treated harshly. I would never want to be a royal in Kendare Blakes world, and perhaps this is why the book is receiving so many rave reviews. Three Dark Crowns is different from most fantasy novels, the plot is unique and the world building is well crafted and detailed.
Having said that, I was disappointed at how long it took to reach a certain event in this book and found myself deeply unsatisfied with the ending. It was with frustration that I realized all the hard work I had invested as a reader meant nothing with such a poorly crafted cliff hanger. In all honestly, the ending of this book made me feel cheated as a reader. The last chapter appeared on the brink of a climax – only to have it snatched away and told to read the next book. I don’t know if this was a money making grab or if the remaining story simply would not have been easily concluded with another 200 pages. Either way, it put me off reading the next installment. For this reason I only gave this novel 3 out of 5 stars.
Leave a Reply

