Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe

16071745

Author: Lauren Graham
Buy Links: Amazon , Book Depositry
Genre: Fiction, Contemporary
MVP: Franny Banks
Rating: ★★★★★ / 5

Book Description:
Franny Banks is a struggling actress in New York City, with just six months left of the three-year deadline she gave herself to succeed. But so far, all she has to show for her efforts is a single line in an ad for ugly Christmas sweaters and a degrading waitressing job. She lives in Brooklyn with two roommates – Jane, her best friend from college, and Dan, a sci-fi writer, who is very definitely not boyfriend material – and is struggling with her feelings for a suspiciously charming guy in her acting class, all while trying to find a hair-product cocktail that actually works.

Meanwhile, she dreams of doing “important” work, but only ever seems to get auditions for dishwashing liquid and peanut butter commercials. It’s hard to tell if she’ll run out of time or money first, but either way, failure would mean facing the fact that she has absolutely no skills to make it in the real world. Her father wants her to come home and teach, her agent won’t call her back, and her classmate Penelope, who seems supportive, might just turn out to be her toughest competition yet.

Someday, Someday, Maybe is a funny and charming debut about finding yourself, finding love, and, most difficult of all, finding an acting job.

Review:

“Today is the day you start believing in yourself. No one can do it for you anymore.”
(p.243)

Welcome to my Favourite New Authors list Lauren Graham! I am proud to say how wrong I was for having doubts when I finally bought this book. I’ve been looking at purchasing Someday, Someday Maybe for ages and was very hesitant to read it; it’s not normally the type of book genre I read. I feared being bored, or worse hating it after two pages and wasting my money. Yet I’m a big fan of Lauren Graham’s from way back in the day of Gilmore Girls and I thought it’d give it a go regardless.

Halfway through the first chapter I knew I was going to love this book. Not only was it unique in the way the book boasted hand written pages from the main character Franny’s FiloFax, it was also written in such an easy going humorous manner that I devoured the book in two days. While the book centers on Franny’s struggle to make it as an actress in New York before her self appointed deadline to head back home expires, I felt a connection to the character – even though I have no interest in being an actor at all. Chapter after chapter I felt her struggles, her lust for recognition for her hard work and most importantly I knew her self doubt as well as I know my own.

I was devastated as the pages began to run out as I wanted to know more and more about what the character would do, and if she would finally achieve her dreams. I was equally as invested in the other characters that criss-crossed their way across Franny’s heart. It was also an incredible personal glimpse behind the scenes of the acting world, and what it must be like for thousands of wannabe hopefuls that flock to New York and Los Angeles in search of stardom.

So impressed by Lauren Graham skills, I have recommended this book to all my friends in the hope that they will enjoy it as much as I did. If you are looking for some inspiration or a funny easy read than this book is for you!

Leave a Reply

