Book Review: Matched

7735333
Author:
Ally Condie
Buy Links: Amazon , Book Depositry
Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia, YA
MVP: Ky Markham
Rating: ★★ / 5

Book Description:

In the Society, officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one…until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow—between perfection and passion.

Matched is a story for right now and storytelling with the resonance of a classic.

Review:


“It is strange how we hold on to the pieces of the past while we wait for our future.”
(loc:187)

You know how they say you should never ‘judge a book by it’s cover’? Well, this is one of those times when I should have listened. I admit it. I bought the book purely because the cover looked so enticing and because the YouTube trailer showed promise. I dove into the book expecting it to be just as fantastic as The Hunger Games once I read its description.

Government Control ✓
Rebellion ✓
A society not too far from our own ✓

The premise was fascinating, but the delivery was painstakingly slow and somewhat indulgent. I realize the author was most likely setting up the story for a much longer series, but having been so disappointed I do not feel the slightest bit inclined to read any more. The plot was there, the character’s interesting and the futuristic setting was easy to conceive. Yet, the story dragged on for way too long and by the time the book became interesting (in the last few pages) I was over it – I had lost sympathy for the characters and just wanted to finish the book.

In all honestly the book wasn’t bad, and I’m sure this book will be more appreciated by a much younger audience, mostly twelve year olds. Personally I’ve read a lot of Young Adult books over the years and I know what to expect. Sadly Matched just didn’t reach the bar despite my best hopes.

I gave the book 2 stars. I could have given it 3, but that would just be because I feel guilty about judging other peoples works so harshly. So I kept in mind, ‘Would I recommend this book to my friends?’ and the answer is, ‘No’.

Leave a Reply

